New England Philharmonic

A snapshot from yesterday’s concert with the New England Philharmonic at Boston University’s Tsai Performance Center. Yes, sometimes you need 9 timpani (the 9th is off-frame) to play a piece. 

It was rewarding having in attendance three of the 5 composers we played: Angela Elizabeth Slater, Yehudi Wyner, and David Rakowski. The rest of the program included works by Hector Berlioz, and Leoš Janáček. 

Angela Slater is the winner of NEP’s annual Call for Scores this year. Her piece (World Premiere) “Roil in Stillness: Ripples and Waves” won the 2018 New England Philharmonic’s Call for Scores. Slater writes for the program notes: “Roil in Stillness” is from a series of works that are inspired by the natural world. The music is influenced by imagery and concepts linked to roiled, turbulent waters, especially the representation of ripples and waves through different compositional means. The climax of the piece creates an aural representation of ripples reaching a central point, highlighted by a dramatic dissonant chord, before descending away again.”

Eric Nathan and Michael Gandolfi, whose music we have played before were in attendance as well. This concert marked the end of David Rakowski as NEP’s Composer-in-Residence, which position Eric Nathan is now taking on for the few years to come. The Boston Symphony will premiere Eric’s Concerto for Orchestra in September, and we will premiere his Double Concerto for Violin, Clarinet, and String Orchestra (co-commissioned by us and The New York Classical Players) in the fall. 

You can read here Aaron Keebaugh’s review for Boston Classical Review. 

New England Philharmonic Orchestra

Elements (closing concert of Season 2018-2019)

Saturday, April 27, 2019

Hector Berlioz, Overture to Béatriz et Bénédict

Yehudi Wyner, Epilogue: in memory of Jacob Druckman (1996)

Leoš Janáček, Violin Concerto (“The Wandering of a Little Soul”). Danielle Maddon, Violin.

Angela Elizabeth Slater, Roil in Stillness: Ripples and Waves (World Premiere, NEP Call for Scores Winner)

David Rakowski, Symphony No. 7 (World Premiere, NEP Commission)

Using Format